Available in English
Have Questions? Call 561-338-6400.
Note: Must be at least 14 1/2 years of age to take the First Time Drivers Program.
Who Is The Florida Drug and Alcohol Course (aka) First Time Driver Course For?
If you have never held a regular driver license in any state, OR, your license expired more than 24 months ago, OR, you are applying for a Florida learner’s permit, you must complete a TLSAE (Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course), also referred to as the 4-hour Drug and Alcohol Course, before applying for a temporary driving permit (restricted driver license) and/or learners permit in the state of Florida. The driver education courses offered by some county school boards may substitute for this requirement.
If you are under 21 years old and receive a notice of suspension for driving with a BAL of .02 to .05, you must complete a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course in order to reinstate your driver license on a hardship basis.
This course trains all first-time driver license applicants regarding the dangers of alcohol and drug abuse when operating a motor vehicle.
Enacted by law in 1989, the Florida Legislature passed F.S. 322.095. This Statute required all first time driver applicants for a Florida Drivers License to attend a substance abuse and traffic safety course. Individuals who have attended a Florida Department of Education approved drivers license education course or who have a valid license in another are not required to complete the course.
This 4-Hour curriculum focuses on traffic safety, Florida laws and substance abuse information. The purpose of this course is to provide drivers with the information necessary to avoid injury or death and to prevent the long term affects resulting from DUI arrest.
What Can I Expect When Taking the Florida Drug and Alcohol Course (a.k.a.) First Time Driver Course?
Our Internet-based course is comprised of six easy-to-read chapters and a compelling video presentations. All first time driver applicants must pass a 40-question final exam by correctly answering at least 32 questions (80%) in order to successfully complete the course. Completions are automatically reported to the DHSMV, and you’ll get a paper Certificate of Completion for your records.
How Much Is Your Course?
Many online traffic school course providers claim to be the lowest but, once you hand over your charge card info and continue with your registration you’ll soon discover you’ll have to pay extra fees. Some of these fees – to name a few – are disguised as processing fees, or, handling fees, or service fees which in turn, jacks-up the price of the Florida first time driver course considerably. Our course is $25.00 complete and reported directly to the DHSMV (Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles) upon completion.